Warner, Smith and Bailey given green light to play opening round of BBL


Images courtesy of: The Herald Sun and Zimbio

Warner, Smith and Bailey will play the opening round of the BBL

Australia’s batting trio of David Warner, Steven Smith and George Bailey have all been given the green light by Cricket Australia team performance manager Pat Howard to represent their respective franchises in the opening round of the Big Bash League (BBL), which gets underway on December 20.

Warner will be representing the Sydney Thunder, Smith will be playing for the Sydney Sixers and Bailey will be captaining the Hobart Hurricanes.

The trio will then report back to national duty as they have to prepare for the Boxing Day Test in Melbourne.

“We have worked closely with the BBL clubs for several months about Test player availability given the early stages of the tournament are played while the Ashes series is still in progress,” Howard said in a statement. “Our Test squad has a very specific training and recovery program throughout the Ashes and we are keen to maintain that where possible.

“That being said, (Tuesday’s) series victory has given us the opportunity to be more flexible in our approach to BBL availability.

“After careful consideration of player fitness and workload issues, we have agreed to release George Bailey, Steve Smith and David Warner for BBL duties on 21 and 22 December.

“On this occasion, the bowlers from the first three Tests were not considered for release given their recent workload and the need to prepare for the Melbourne and Sydney Tests.

“We will continue to work closely with all BBL clubs on player availability and preparation.”

Leave a Reply