New Zealand vs West Indies 1st Test Day 4: Bravo’s maiden double century keeps West Indies alive

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Bravo scored his maiden double century

West Indies batsman Darren Bravo kept his team’s hopes of salvaging a draw alive as he registered his maiden double century on the fourth day of the first Test against New Zealand in Dunedin.

Bravo was well supported by Kirk Edwards and Narsingh Deonarine, both of whom scored half-centuries.

Starting out the day on 168/2, Bravo and Marlon Samuels only managed to add 10 runs onto their 33-run partnership before Samuels was dismissed when he was caught and bowled by Tim Southee for 23.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul only made one run before being given out lbw off the bowling of Neil Wagner.

Chanderpaul reviewed the decision, but after the replays showed that there was no inside edge and that the ball was not going over the stumps, the original decision was upheld.

After losing Samuels and Chanderpaul in quick succession, Bravo and Deonarine came to the rescue with a brilliant 122-run partnership, during which Bravo brought up his fifth Test century and Deonarine his half-century.

The partnership was ended when Deonarine was caught behind off the bowling of Corey Anderson for 52 off 129 balls, which included four boundaries.

Bravo and wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin amassed a 56-run partnership, during which Bravo surpassed the 150-run mark, before Ramdin was clean bowled by Ish Sodhi for 24.

Bravo and West Indies captain Darren Sammy put together an unbeaten 80-run partnership, during which Bravo registered his maiden double century, before stumps was called.

Bravo finished on 210 off 404 balls, which included 30 boundaries, while Sammy remained undefeated on 44 off 75 deliveries, which included five boundaries and two sixes.

Sodhi was the pick of the New Zealand bowlers with two wickets, while Southee, Wagner, Anderson and Trent Boult all chipped in with one wicket apiece.

The West Indies ended the day on 443/6 and will resume batting tomorrow at 10:30 local time or 21:30 GMT (previous day).

Leave a Reply