West Indies retain Test squad for tour of New Zealand

Image courtesy of: Yahoo

Sammy will continue to captain the Test side

Despite being whitewashed 2-0 by India, the West Indies have retained their Test squad for the upcoming tour of New Zealand, which will consist of three Test matches, five ODIs and two Twenty20 Internationals.

Even though the West Indies were thrashed by an innings and 51 runs in the first Test and by an innings and 126 runs in the second Test, Darren Sammy, who went wicketless and only managed to score 21 runs in four innings, will continue to captain the side.

Both the Test matches against India failed to go past the third day, which will be one of the top issues the West Indies have to rectify before their Test series against New Zealand gets underway on December 3.

The West Indies batting will be another major issue as only two batsmen were able to score more than a hundred runs against India.

Their bowling, with the exception of Shane Shillingford, was lacklustre at best as the off-spinner claimed 11 wickets in the series, while the rest of his team-mates failed to take more than two wickets.

If the West Indies were to lose to New Zealand by a margin of 2-0 or more, they will slip from sixth to seventh on the International Cricket Council (ICC) Test team rankings.

West Indies Test Squad: Darren Sammy (capt), Denesh Ramdin (wk & vice-capt), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sheldon Cottrell, Narsingh Deonarine, Kirk Edwards, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Veersammy Permaul, Kieran Powell, Marlon Samuels, Shane Shillingford, Chadwick Walton (wk)

Leave a Reply