Yadav, Shami and Sharma included in India Test squad

Image courtesy of: International Business Times

Shami is highly likely to make his Test debut during the two-Test series

India’s pace duo of Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami, along with opening batsman Rohit Sharma have been included in the Test squad for the national team’s upcoming series against the West Indies.

Left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja will miss the entire series after sustaining a shoulder injury, which has created an opening for Amit Mishra to make his international return.

Veteran pace bowler Zaheer Khan failed to regain his spot in the Test squad, while Ishant Sharma, who has come under heavy criticism for his poor bowling as of late, managed to retain his place.

Khan was expected to make his international comeback during this series, but according to sources, the national selectors are highly considering including him in the national team when they tour South Africa in December.

One source told ESPNcricinfo that the selection committee wanted Khan to play more domestic cricket before he made the transition back to the international level.

“He is very much a part of the plans for South Africa,” the source said.

Despite his brilliant performances as an opener in ODIs, Sharma will still have to compete with Ajinkya Rahane for a middle order spot.

One major surprise was the fact that the national selectors decided to drop flamboyant batsman Suresh Raina, along with off-spinner Harbhajan Singh and pace bowler Ashok Dinda.

India Squad: MS Dhoni (capt. & wk), Shikhar Dhawan, M Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Pragyan Ojha, Amit Mishra, Ajinkya Rahane, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Rohit Sharma, Ishant Sharma.

Leave a Reply