Bangladesh recall Mortaza for New Zealand ODI series

Image courtesy of: Times of India

Mortaza has not represented Bangladesh in an ODI since last year

Bangladesh have recalled pace bowler Mashrafe Mortaza for the three-match ODI series against New Zealand, which gets underway on October 29 in Mirpur.

Mortaza was just one of four players recalled, with Anamul Haque, Rubel Hossain and Naeem Islam being the other three.

The changes were announced after Bangladesh’s 2-1 loss in their most recent ODI series against Zimbabwe in May.

Mortaza’s last ODI for Bangladesh came against the West Indies last year after which he sustained a devastating heel injury during this year’s Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) final.

Mortaza has suffered numerous leg injuries throughout his career, which has ultimately resulted in him missing out on 103 ODIs.

Islam’s last ODI for Bangladesh also came against the West Indies last year as he too sustained an injury during this year’s BPL, only it was to his quadriceps instead of his heel.

Haque was forced to miss the Zimbabwe series due to college exams, while Hossain had to be withdrawn after coming down with chicken pox.

Robiul Islam, who suffered a quadriceps injury during the first Test against New Zealand in Chittagong, has not been included in the ODI squad, while Mohammad Ashraful is still suspended from playing cricket after admitting to match-fixing.

Bangladesh ODI Squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt.), Mahmudullah (vice-captain), Anamul Haque, Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Abdur Razzak, Sohag Gazi, Rubel Hossain, Mominul Haque, Naeem Islam, Mashrafe Mortaza, Shafiul Islam, Ziaur Rahman, Shamsur Rahman

Leave a Reply