Sydney Thunder sign Eoin Morgan

Image courtesy of: Fox Sports

Morgan is looking forward to playing alongside Hussey

England batsman Eoin Morgan will represent the Sydney Thunder in this year’s Big Bash League (BBL) after confirming that he had signed a contract with the franchise.

The Syndey Thunder have now secured the services of three high-profile players, which include Morgan, former Australia batsman Michael Hussey and current baggy greens opener David Warner.

“I am really excited about getting the opportunity to join the Sydney Thunder for this season’s Big Bash,” Morgan said in a statement. “I have been a big admirer of the tournament and I’m looking forward to getting a chance to play in it.”

Morgan does have a history of playing domestic Twenty20 tournaments as he represented the Kolkata Knight Riders in this year’s Indian Premier League (IPL).

Morgan should be available for most, if not all, of Sydney’s matches as he was not included in England’s Ashes squad for their tour of the Land Down Under in November.

The Irish-born batsman also tweeted about his excitement to be playing alongside Hussey.

“I’m delighted to announce that I have signed for Sydney Thunder @ThunderBBL Really looking forward to playing under Mike Hussey,” Morgan tweeted.

Hussey transferred to the Sydney Thunder from the Perth Scorchers, while Warner re-signed with the franchise after spending a season with their rivals, the Sydney Sixers.

Warner played for the Sydney Thunder in the inaugural edition of the BBL, but left the following year after getting into a heated dispute with general manager John Dyson.

Leave a Reply