Nawaz Sharif demolishes PCB governing board

Image courtesy of: The Guardian

Sharif has appointed himself as Patron of the PCB

The Prime Minister of Pakistan, Nawaz Sharif, has demolished the Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) governing board and replaced it with a five-member interim management committee (IMC).

The IMC will consist of acting chairman Najam Sethi‚ ex-chairman Shahryar Khan, former players Zaheer Abbas and Haroon Rasheed and former team manager Naved Cheema.

Sethi was also unanimously voted in as the IMC’s chairman and he will represent Pakistan at the International Cricket Council (ICC) board meeting in London on October 18 and 19.

“The Patron of PCB, the Prime Minister of Pakistan, has been pleased to direct the following: 1. Paragraph Section 41 of PCB Constitution has been amended and under the said paragraphs the board has been superseded,” the PCB said in a release. “An Interim Management Committee (IMC) has been constituted to ensure that PCB remains enabled to continue to perform day-to-day domestic and international functions for the promotion of the game and in line with the directions of the court.”

Leave a Reply