A BATTING WITH BIMAL BREAKING REPORT: Chennai Super Kings bolster bowling department by signing five uncapped bowlers

Ahmed is the most experienced out of all five bowlers

In a bid to win this year’s Indian Premier League (IPL) the Chennai Super Kings have bolstered their bowling department by signing five uncapped Indian bowlers.

The bowlers that were signed are Uttar Pradesh pace duo Imtiaz Ahmed and Ankit Rajpoot, Haryana seamer Mohit Sharma, Karnataka pacer Ronit More and Tamil Nadu left-arm spinner R Karthikeyan.

Ahmed is the most experienced bowler of the lot, having played 15 first-class games so far.

In this year’s Ranji Trophy, Ahmed was Uttar Pradesh’s leading wicket-taker with 37 wickets from nine matches, which included three five-wicket hauls, at an average of 25.45.

Ahmed was signed by the Pune Warriors for the 2011 edition of the IPL, but failed to play a single game.

Ahmed’s team-mate, Rajpoot made his first-class debut this year against Karnataka in the Ranji Trophy and has been brilliant with the ball, taking 31 wickets in seven matches at an outstanding average of 18.80.

However, Rajpoot is still yet to play any limited overs matches at the domestic level.

Meanwhile Sharma has played eight Ranji Trophy matches this season and picked up 37 wickets at an average of 23.24.

He has also played six List A matches, with the most recent one coming against the England XI, where he took the wickets of Ian Bell and Craig Kieswetter in the eight overs he was given.

More also made his first-class debut this season and represented Karnataka in two matches, while also playing seven List A matches and one domestic Twenty20 as well.

Karthikeyan, who was the lone spinner to be signed, currently plays for the TI Cycles in Tamil Nadu Cricket Association’s first division league.

Chennai coach Stephen Fleming was pleased to have acquired some local seam bowling talent and was also excited about the players the franchise had snapped up in the auction.

The Super Kings bought three pace bowlers, Dirk Nannes, Ben Laughlin and Jason Holder, along with South African all-rounder Chris Morris and Sri Lanka spin prodigy Akila Dananjaya.

Leave a Reply