A BATTING WITH BIMAL BREAKING REPORT: Kevin Pietersen ousted from England limited overs squad for New Zealand series

Pietersen will only play during the Test series in England’s tour to New Zealand

England flamboyant batsman Kevin Pietersen has been ousted from the national team’s limited overs squads in the upcoming tour of New Zealand due to the national selectors desire to keep him fit and healthy ahead of the brutal international schedule to follow later this year.

Rest periods and rotation policies have been the landmark of English cricket as of late and national selector Geoff Miller has made it clear that Pietersen’s absence during the limited overs series against New Zealand is purely down to his need of rest and the England and Wales Cricket Board’s (ECB) desire to manage his workload.

“There are a number of players who we have decided not to select for parts of the competitive programme this winter as we look to manage their workloads effectively while ensuring we remain competitive across all formats,” Miller said. “We feel this is the best way of keeping players as physically and mentally fresh as possible during a demanding 2013 and beyond.

“Kevin Pietersen will miss the limited overs tour of New Zealand with Graeme Swann missing the T20 leg of the tour. This approach also provides an opportunity for talented young players to gain more international experience which will be important for their development and the development of England sides in the future.”

However, Pietersen is expected to play during the Test series before heading off to India to participate in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

After his highly publicised “reintegration” back into the England side, Pietersen has already missed two entire Twenty20 series and recently, he was not part of the national team’s 1-1 draw against India in their Twenty20 series, despite being one of the best in the format.

England played 44 matches across all three formats last year and the ECB are now making it essential for players to receive adequate rest periods in order to maintain their passion, fitness and a stable family life.

England’s Twenty20 squad for their tour of New Zealand is as follows:¬†Stuart Broad (capt), Jonny Bairstow, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, James Tredwell, Luke Wright.

England’s ODI squad for their tour of New Zealand is as follow:¬†Alastair Cook (capt), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Craig Kieswetter, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott.

Leave a Reply