A BATTING WITH BIMAL BREAKING REPORT: Champions League to be hosted by South Africa

The Mumbai Indians are the defending champions of the tournament

The Governing Council of the Champions League has announced that Cricket South Africa will host the 2012 edition of the Twenty20 tournament, which features teams from many cricket playing nations.

Cricket South Africa Acting CEO Jacques Faul approved the decision for South Africa to be hosting the event, which will take place in the latter half of October this year, just after the conclusion of the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Twenty20.

“This is very exciting news for South African cricket, it once again underlines the faith the international cricket community has in CSA to organise major international events and also adds tremendous value to the package our various sponsors and affiliates are able to offer the fans in their regions,” Faul said.

Faul, also mentioned that the financial rewards of the tournament would be beneficial to Cricket South Africa, and the people of the nation would have the opportunity to cheer on their favourite Twenty20 cricketers.

“The financial benefits for the game in this country are also substantial and we look forward to welcoming some of the best players from around the world to our country once again,” Faul added.

South Africa will be represented by the MiWay Twenty20 Challenge winners, the Nashua Titans, along with the Highveld Lions.

Pakistan will have a team being entered into the competition for the first time ever, with the Sialkot Stallions getting ready to make their country proud.

Four Indian Premier League (IPL) teams will also be participating in the tournament, which are the Kolkata Knight Riders, the Chennai Super Kings, the Delhi Daredevils and the Mumbai Indians.

The Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers will be the two Australian Big Bash League teams taking part in the Champions League, while the New Zealand are represented by the Auckland Aces and West Indies by Trinidad & Tobago.

Teams from England and Sri Lanka are still yet to be decided, since England Twenty20 domestic competition is still yet to be concluded, while Sri Lanka will hold the first ever Sri Lanka Premier League this month.

Leave a Reply