Holder to miss tour of Bangladesh

Jason Holder miss Bangladesh tour shoulder injury West Indies cricket

Jason Holder has been ruled out of the West Indies’ tour of Bangladesh

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

West Indies captain Jason Holder has been ruled out of the upcoming tour of Bangladesh due to a shoulder injury.

With Holder out of action, vice-captain Kraigg Brathwaite will lead the West Indies in the two-Test series, which begins on November 22.

Holder was replaced by all-rounder Ramon Reifer, but that was the only change the West Indies made to their squad that toured India.

Holder will will undergo physiotherapy and rehabilitation in Barbados after being diagnosed with a partial thickness tear of the subscapularis tendon.

Cricket West Indies chief executive Johnny Grave has confirmed that Holder’s injury will be reassessed in four weeks’ time.

“The medical panel were concerned that if Jason was to bowl in Bangladesh, the partial tear may become a full tear which may involve the need for surgery and/or a significant break from cricket,” Grave told BCAcricket.org as quoted by ESPNcricinfo. “It was, therefore, then recommended for Jason not to travel to Bangladesh and instead undergo physiotherapy and rehab in Barbados.”

Holder explained that the injury has been bothering him since the World Cup Qualifiers in March.

“I am definitely disappointed not being able to make the tour to Bangladesh,” he said. “But based on the advice from the medical team, we felt this was the best course of action to deal with the ongoing issues I have been having with my shoulder and prevent further damage.

“I’ve been having issues with my shoulder since the World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe in March. Since then I have been trying to manage it and the pain levels, but it has got to a point now where I’ve got to take time to correct it so that going forward I have no further issues. Obviously I am disappointed to miss the tour but I know the boys are capable of beating Bangladesh.”

Following the two-Test series, Bangladesh and the West Indies will play three ODIs and three Twenty20 Internationals. The ODI series will begin on December 9 in Dhaka, while the Twenty20 Internationals will get underway on December 17 in Sylhet.

West Indies’ Test squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Shermon Lewis, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach, Jomel Warrican

Leave a Reply