BBL 2017/18 12th Match: Neser’s all-round performance sinks Brisbane Heat

Michael Neser Adelaide Strikers Brisbane Heat BBL cricket

Michael Neser excelled with both the bat and ball

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Adelaide Strikers seamer Michael Neser smashed an unbeaten 40 and took two wickets to lead his side to a 56-run win over the Brisbane Heat.

Choosing to bat first, the Strikers were unable to start with a bang as opener Alex Carey was clean bowled by Josh Lalor for two runs.

Lalor struck again in his next over as he cleaned up Jake Weatherald for 20.

Strikers captain Travis Head was unable to save his side as he had his stumps rattled by Yasir Shah after scoring 13.

Jonathan Wells and Colin Ingram also fell shortly after for 12 and 23 respectively, but Jake Lehmann and Neser came to the rescue with a 45-run partnership before Lehmann was sent packing by Mark Steketee for 22.

Neser went on to make 40 off 26 balls, which included three boundaries and two sixes, as the Strikers finished on 147/7 off their 20 overs.

Lalor was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets, while Yasir took two, and Steketee and Cameron Gannon chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Chasing 148 to win, the Heat found themselves in deep trouble early on as Jimmy Peirson, Chris Lynn, Joe Burns and Alex Ross were all dismissed in quick succession.

With the Heat reeling at 15/4, things didn’t get any better for them as they continued to lose wickets at regular intervals.

Despite Gannon putting up a fight with his knock of 23, the Heat were unable to come close to their target as they were bowled out for 91.

Ben Laughlin was the most successful bowler with three wickets, while Neser and Rashid Khan snapped up two wickets apiece. As for Head and Billy Stanlake, they claimed one wicket each.

Neser was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply