Kohli rested for Sri Lanka ODI series

Virat Kohli Rohit Sharma India Sri Lanka cricket

Virat Kohli (right) will be rested for the ODI series, while Rohit Sharma (left) will take over as captain

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

India captain Virat Kohli has been rested for the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka, which begins on December 10 in Dharamsala.

With Kohli missing the series, the national selectors have appointed opening batsman Rohit Sharma as India’s stand-in captain.

However, according to a Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) official, Kohli could return for the three-match Twenty20 series, which gets underway on December 20 in Cuttack.

In regards to India’s ODI squad, batsman Shreyas Iyer has taken Kohli’s spot, while uncapped pace bowler Siddarth Kaul has come in for Shardul Thakur.

Iyer has yet to make his ODI debut, but he did get the opportunity to play in the Twenty20 series against New Zealand earlier this month.

Meanwhile, all-rounder Hardik Pandya and Bhuvneshwar Kumar will make their returns after missing the ongoing Test series.

Pandya was rested for the entire series, while Kumar was released from the squad after the first Test in Kolkata due to his wedding.

India’s ODI Squad: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul

Leave a Reply