Gabriel fined for Sarfraz incident

Gabriel will be docked 50 per cent of his match fee

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

West Indies pace bowler Shannon Gabriel has been fined 50 per cent of his match fee for deliberately making contact with Pakistan wicketkeeper-batsman Sarfraz Ahmed.

The incident, which saw Gabriel barge past Sarfraz at the non-striker’s end after collecting his cap from umpire Richard Illingworth, occurred in the 103rd over on the fourth day of the first Test in Jamaica.

Illingworth immediately had a word with Gabriel, who was subsequently charged with breaching Article 2.2.7 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to “Inappropriate and deliberate physical contact with a Player, Player Support Personnel, Umpire, Match Referee or any other Person (including a spectator) in the course of play during an International Match”.

Since Gabriel accepted the sanction, there will be no need for a formal hearing.

Leave a Reply