IPL 2016 25th Match: Lions win off last ball despite Steve Smith’s ton

Smith smashed nine boundaries and a six during his knock of 63

Smith smashed nine boundaries and a six during his knock of 63

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Rising Pune Supergiants batsman Steven Smith scored a stellar century, but his efforts went in vain as the Gujarat Lions claimed a three-wicket win off the last ball of the match.

Opting to bowl first, the Lions removed Saurabh Tiwary early on, but Ajinkya Rahane and Smith put the Supergiants in the driver’s seat with their 111-run partnership.

With things spiralling out of control, Dwayne Bravo ran Rahane out for 53 off 45 balls, which included five boundaries.

Smith and Supergiants captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni kept the runs flowing with a 64-run stand before Smith was clean bowled by Bravo for 101, which came off 54 deliveries and included eight boundaries and five sixes.

Smith scored his maiden IPL century

Smith scored his maiden IPL century

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Thanks to Smith, the Supergiants finished on 195/3 off their 20 overs.

Bravo was the only bowler to take a wicket.

Chasing 196 to win, the Lions got off to a fantastic start as Dwayne Smith and Brendon McCullum amassed a 93-run partnership before McCullum was removed for 43.

Smith went on to make 63 off 37 balls, which included nine boundaries and a six, before he was clean bowled by Thisara Perera.

Lions captain Suresh Raina and wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik steered their side ever closer to victory with a 51-run stand before Karthik, Bravo and Ravindra Jadeja were on their way back to the pavilion in quick succession.

Due to the flurry of wickets, the Lions found themselves requiring nine runs off the last over to win. Six runs were scored off the first two balls before Raina and Ishan Kishan were dismissed in consecutive deliveries. Still needing three runs to win, birthday boy James Faulkner scored two off the penultimate ball before pulling the final ball just past Steven Smith at mid-on to lead his side to a thrilling win.

Perera and Ashok Dinda snapped up two wickets apiece, while Rajat Bhatia picked up one.

Dwayne Smith was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply